Image: Plasma
Plasma One Visa Card review: fees, cashback and limits
A stablecoin neobank card with local bank rails and up to 4% back.
Quick answer
Plasma One is a self-custody stablecoin account with a Visa card that works in 180+ countries. The free Lite tier pays 2% back in XPL with a 1% FX markup. Core (3%) and Platinum (4%) cut or remove that markup but need 20,000 or 100,000 XPL locked for 12 months. You can fund it with stablecoins or local bank transfers in USD, EUR, GBP, BRL, MXN and COP. It launched publicly in June 2026, so the track record is short.
Plasma One at a glance
| Best for | Stablecoin users who want cashback plus cheap local bank on and off ramps in one app. |
|---|---|
| Skip it if | You want a long track record, or you don't want to lock XPL to get the better tiers. |
| Network | Visa |
| Card issuer | Third National |
| Custody | Self-custody (Plasma says you own and custody your stablecoins) |
| Card type | Stablecoin-funded card (credit card in the US) |
| Virtual or physical | Virtual and physical |
| Cashback | 2% to 4% in XPL, up to 10% on AI spend |
| Annual fee | No annual fee listed for US tiers. Not disclosed for global tiers. |
| Apple Pay / Google Pay | Yes / Yes |
| Identity check (KYC) | Required |
| Where it works | Plasma says the card works in 180+ countries. Exact app eligibility by country isn't published in one list, and the US gets a credit card version. |
Plasma One fees
| Card cost | Not publicly listed |
|---|---|
| Annual or membership fee | No annual fee listed for US tiers. Not disclosed for global tiers. |
| FX and cross-border | Plasma markup: 1% Lite, 0.5% Core, 0% Platinum. Visa's own network FX may still apply. |
| Crypto conversion | Not listed |
| ATM withdrawals | ATM withdrawals listed for US tiers. Fees not publicly disclosed. |
| Other fees | Returned payment: up to $29 |
| Transfers on the Plasma network are free |
Visa applies its own exchange rate on top of any card markup. Check the fee page in the Plasma One app for your country before you load money. To see what Plasma One would cost you in a year compared with every other card, try the cost calculator.
What a $100 purchase costs with Plasma One
These are Plasma One's own fees on the Lite tier, before the card network's exchange rate and any ATM or top-up costs. Its FX markup of 1% is the same as the median of 1% across the 60 cards we track with a published FX fee, and cheaper than 24 of them. For a full year based on your own spending, use the cost calculator.
Where it ranks by our score: #2 of 20 in United States#5 of 36 in Europe (EEA)#4 of 20 in United Kingdom#3 of 27 in Latin America
Cashback and rewards
- Lite: 2% back, no requirement
- Core: 3% back, 5% on eligible AI spend. Needs 20,000 XPL locked for 12 months.
- Platinum: 4% back, 10% on eligible AI spend and flights. Needs 100,000 XPL locked for 12 months.
- Paid in XPL, so the value moves with the token price
| Tier | Price or requirement | Cashback | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lite | Free | 2% | 1% FX markup |
| Core | 20,000 XPL locked 12 months | 3%, 5% on AI | 0.5% FX markup, lounge access and protections |
| Platinum | 100,000 XPL locked 12 months | 4%, 10% on AI and flights | 0% FX markup, more perks |
Deposits and withdrawals
How to top up
- Deposit stablecoins from your own wallet
- Virtual accounts for USD (ACH and wire), EUR (SEPA), GBP (Faster Payments), BRL (PIX), MXN (SPEI) and COP
Fees: Bank deposit fees by tier, for example ACH $1 Lite or $0.50 Core and Platinum, SEPA $0.30 to $0.50, wire $10 to $15.
How to withdraw
- Send stablecoins onchain, free on the Plasma network
- Withdraw to a bank through ACH, wire, SEPA, Faster Payments, PIX, SPEI or COP rails
Fees: Bank withdrawals cost 0.10% to 1% plus the rail fee, lower on higher tiers. For example SEPA is 1% on Lite, 0.25% on Core and 0.10% on Platinum.
Supported assets: Stablecoins on the Plasma network.
Where Plasma One works
Plasma says the card works in 180+ countries. Exact app eligibility by country isn't published in one list, and the US gets a credit card version.
Check the app for your country before locking any XPL.
Limits and perks
Limits
- Spending limits are not publicly disclosed
Perks
- Core and Platinum: airport lounge access, concierge, purchase and price protection, extended warranty
- AI subscription credits and GigSky mobile data on Core and Platinum
- Referral rewards that grow by tier
Pros and cons
What's good
- 2% back on a free tier
- Cheap local bank deposits and withdrawals in six currencies
- Self-custody stablecoin balance
- Low or zero FX markup on higher tiers
What's not
- Better tiers need a 12-month XPL lock
- Rewards paid in XPL, which can drop in value
- New product with a short track record
- Limits and some fees aren't published
Our take on Plasma One
Plasma One is a stablecoin neobank from the team behind the Plasma network. You get a self-custody stablecoin balance, a Visa card that works in 180+ countries, and local bank accounts so you can move money in and out in dollars, euros, pounds, reais, pesos and Colombian pesos. It went fully public in June 2026 after a staged rollout.
The free Lite tier is already competitive: 2% back with a 1% FX markup. Core and Platinum push cashback to 3% and 4%, cut the FX markup to 0.5% and 0%, and add bigger rewards on AI tools, plus perks like lounge access. The catch is that both need XPL locked for 12 months, 20,000 for Core and 100,000 for Platinum. That's a long time to hold a single, volatile token.
The bank rails are the underrated part. Deposits cost as little as $0.30 for SEPA, and withdrawals to a bank range from 1% on Lite to 0.10% on Platinum plus the rail fee. Sending stablecoins on the Plasma network itself is free.
Because the product is new, some details like spending limits and ATM fees aren't published yet. Start small and let it earn your trust.
One of the most interesting new cards, with real cashback on the free tier and cheap bank rails. Stay on Lite unless you'd hold XPL for a year anyway.
How much people spend with Plasma One
Spending trackerHow we scored Plasma One: 7.7/10
MethodologyPlasma One FAQ
How much cashback does Plasma One give?
2% on Lite, 3% on Core and 4% on Platinum, paid in XPL. Core and Platinum also give 5% and 10% on eligible AI spending.
What does it take to get Plasma One Core or Platinum?
Core needs 20,000 XPL locked for 12 months and Platinum needs 100,000 XPL locked for 12 months.
Is Plasma One self-custody?
Plasma says the stablecoins in your account are owned and custodied by you, and that Plasma isn't a bank.
Can I connect Plasma One to a bank account?
Yes. It offers virtual accounts for USD, EUR, GBP, BRL, MXN and COP, with fees that drop on higher tiers.
Sources
- Plasma One launch announcement (Business Wire via 01net)Launch, 180+ countries, cashback, bank rails, custody, June 19, 2026
- DefiLlama card details: Plasma OneTiers, FX markups, ramp fees, perks, verified Sep 19, 2026
- Decrypt: Plasma to launch stablecoin-native neobankBackground, Sep 22, 2025
We checked these sources on 15 October 2026. Fees and rewards change often. Spotted something out of date? Report a correction and we'll check it within two working days.
Compare Plasma One with
Solid
A self-custody stablecoin Visa paying 3% back in USDC on the free tier, in 105 countries.
Bleap
A free self-custody Mastercard for Europe with category cashback in USDC up to 20%.
COCA
A self-custody Visa with 0% FX, a 5% yield on USD and up to 8% back for COCA stakers.
Image: Solid (Fuse)
Image: Bleap
Image: COCA