Solayer Emerald CardSolayer Emerald Card official card imageImage: Solayer

Solayer Emerald Card review: fees, cashback and limits

A self-custody Solana card that works in 154 countries, but stacks up small fees.

Quick answer

The Solayer Emerald Card is a self-custody Visa card that spends USDC on Solana. It costs $20 a year and works in about 154 countries with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Fees add up: 1% to top up, $0.15 per transaction, and $0.10 plus 1.5% on international purchases. It doesn't publish a cashback rate and rewards users with Solayer points instead.

Solayer Emerald Card at a glance

Best forSolana users who want a self-custody card in a country that few other cards cover.
Skip it ifYou care about low fees or cashback.
NetworkVisa
Card issuerThird National
CustodySelf-custody
Card typeCredit-style card funded by USDC
Virtual or physicalVirtual and physical
CashbackPoints, no fixed cashback
Annual fee$20 a year
Apple Pay / Google PayYes / Yes
Identity check (KYC)Required
Where it worksAbout 154 countries across most regions, according to trackers.

Solayer Emerald Card fees

Card costIncluded in the yearly fee
Annual or membership fee$20 a year
FX and cross-border$0.10 plus 1.5% per international transaction
Crypto conversionNone listed for USDC
ATM withdrawalsATM withdrawals supported. Fees not publicly disclosed.
Other fees$0.15 per transaction
1% top-up fee

Visa applies its own exchange rate on top of any card markup. Check the fee page in the Solayer Emerald Card app for your country before you load money. To see what Solayer Emerald Card would cost you in a year compared with every other card, try the cost calculator.

What a $100 purchase costs with Solayer Emerald Card

$1.15Paid from stablecoins in the card's own currency
$2.65Paid from stablecoins in a foreign currency
$1.15Paid from other crypto, like BTC or ETH
$0Cashback on $100, Standard tier

These are Solayer Emerald Card's own fees on the Standard tier, before the card network's exchange rate and any ATM or top-up costs. Its FX markup of 1.5% is higher than the median of 1% across the 60 cards we track with a published FX fee, and cheaper than 18 of them. For a full year based on your own spending, use the cost calculator.

Where it ranks by our score: #21 of 27 in Latin America#18 of 24 in Asia-Pacific#12 of 14 in Africa#13 of 16 in Middle East

Cashback and rewards

  • Solayer doesn't publish a cashback rate
  • Spending earns Solayer points
  • Referrals earn 10% of the points your friends collect

Deposits and withdrawals

How to top up

  • Top up with USDC on Solana from your self-custody wallet

Fees: 1% per top-up

How to withdraw

  • Move USDC back to any Solana wallet
  • ATM withdrawals

Fees: Solana network fees. ATM fees not published.

Supported assets: USDC on Solana.

Where Solayer Emerald Card works

About 154 countries across most regions, according to trackers.

Check the Solayer app for your country.

GlobalLatin AmericaAsia-PacificAfricaMiddle East

Limits and perks

Limits

  • Spending limits are not publicly disclosed

Perks

  • Solayer points on spending

Pros and cons

What's good

  • Self-custody
  • Very wide country coverage
  • Apple Pay and Google Pay

What's not

  • Many small fees: 1% top-up, $0.15 per transaction, 1.5% plus $0.10 abroad
  • No published cashback rate
  • $20 a year
  • Only USDC on Solana

Our take on Solayer Emerald Card

Solayer's Emerald Card is one of the few self-custody cards that works almost everywhere, with about 154 countries listed. You top it up with USDC on Solana and pay with Visa, Apple Pay or Google Pay.

The fee structure is where it falls down. Topping up costs 1%, every transaction costs $0.15, and international purchases cost $0.10 plus 1.5%. A $20 purchase abroad could carry about $0.85 in fees once you count the top-up share. There's also a $20 yearly fee.

Instead of cashback, Solayer gives points, and it doesn't publish what they're worth. That makes it hard to compare with cards that pay stablecoins back.

If you live somewhere other self-custody cards don't reach, it still does the job. Otherwise, there are cheaper options for spending Solana stablecoins.

Useful for reach and self-custody, expensive for everything else. Most people will find better value elsewhere.

How we scored Solayer Emerald Card: 5.6/10

Methodology
Fees 30% 4 Yearly fee plus top-up, per-transaction and FX charges.
Rewards 20% 4 Points only, value not published.
Control 20% 8 Self-custody with published fees.
Reach 15% 8 About 154 countries.
Flexibility 15% 5 USDC on Solana only.

Solayer Emerald Card FAQ

How much does the Solayer card cost?

$20 a year. You'll also pay 1% to top up and $0.15 per transaction.

Does the Solayer card have cashback?

Solayer doesn't publish a cashback rate. Spending earns Solayer points instead.

What are Solayer's FX fees?

$0.10 plus 1.5% on each international transaction.

Which crypto does the Solayer card use?

USDC on Solana.

Sources

  1. DefiLlama card details: SolayerFees, countries, custody, verified Aug 27, 2026
  2. Solayer Pay FAQMembership fee

We checked these sources on 15 October 2026. Fees and rewards change often. Spotted something out of date? Report a correction and we'll check it within two working days.

Compare Solayer Emerald Card with

Solid

A self-custody stablecoin Visa paying 3% back in USDC on the free tier, in 105 countries.

3% to 5% in USDC Self-custody Bank transfers Visa
7.9out of 10

Bleap

A free self-custody Mastercard for Europe with category cashback in USDC up to 20%.

1% to 20% in USDC by category Self-custody Mastercard
7.8out of 10

COCA

A self-custody Visa with 0% FX, a 5% yield on USD and up to 8% back for COCA stakers.

1% to 8% in stablecoins Self-custody Bank transfers Visa
7.8out of 10