Avalanche CardAvalanche Card official card imageImage: Avalanche Foundation

Avalanche Card review: fees, cashback and limits

The Avalanche ecosystem's self-custody Visa, free to get but pricey abroad.

5.2out of 10
Visit Avalanche Card

Quick answer

The Avalanche Card is a self-custody Visa that spends AVAX, USDC or USDT. There's no card, shipping or monthly fee. Outside the US it's a spend card with FX and cross-border fees of up to 3%. In the US it's a credit card with a 1% FX fee. It's listed in about 31 countries, mostly in Latin America and the Caribbean, and rewards come as Avax Points rather than cashback.

Avalanche Card at a glance

Best forAVAX holders in Latin America or the US who want to spend from their own wallet.
Skip it ifYou travel a lot or want cashback.
NetworkVisa
Card issuerThird National
CustodySelf-custody
Card typeSpend card globally, credit card in the US
Virtual or physicalVirtual and physical
CashbackAvax Points, no fixed cashback
Annual feeNone in the US. No monthly account fee.
Apple Pay / Google PayYes / Yes
Identity check (KYC)Required
Where it worksAbout 31 countries, mostly in Latin America and the Caribbean (such as Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil and Chile), plus a US credit version.

Avalanche Card fees

Card costNo virtual or physical card fee, free shipping
Annual or membership feeNone in the US. No monthly account fee.
FX and cross-borderGlobal: up to 3%. US: 1%.
Crypto conversionNot listed separately
ATM withdrawalsNot publicly disclosed
Other feesGlobal returned payment: up to $5
US late payment: up to 2% of the outstanding balance

Visa applies its own exchange rate on top of any card markup. Check the fee page in the Avalanche Card app for your country before you load money. To see what Avalanche Card would cost you in a year compared with every other card, try the cost calculator.

What a $100 purchase costs with Avalanche Card

$0.00Paid from stablecoins in the card's own currency
$3.00Paid from stablecoins in a foreign currency
Not publishedPaid from other crypto, like BTC or ETH
$0Cashback on $100, Standard tier

These are Avalanche Card's own fees on the Standard tier, before the card network's exchange rate and any ATM or top-up costs. Its FX markup of 3% is higher than the median of 1% across the 60 cards we track with a published FX fee, and cheaper than 1 of them. For a full year based on your own spending, use the cost calculator.

Where it ranks by our score: #16 of 20 in United States#25 of 27 in Latin America

Cashback and rewards

  • Spending earns Avax Points
  • Points can be redeemed through a travel portal

Deposits and withdrawals

How to top up

  • Spend AVAX, USDC, USDT or WAVAX from your wallet on Ethereum, Arbitrum, Optimism or Polygon (plus Avalanche C-Chain in the US)

Fees: No top-up fee listed. Network fees apply.

How to withdraw

  • Funds stay in your own wallet, so you can move them any time

Fees: Network fees for onchain moves.

Supported assets: AVAX, USDC, USDT and WAVAX.

Where Avalanche Card works

About 31 countries, mostly in Latin America and the Caribbean (such as Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil and Chile), plus a US credit version.

Check the Avalanche Card app for your country.

United StatesLatin America

Limits and perks

Limits

  • Spending limits are not publicly disclosed

Perks

  • Avax Points
  • Travel portal redemptions

Pros and cons

What's good

  • No card, shipping or monthly fees
  • Self-custody
  • Physical card available
  • US credit version with a 1% FX fee

What's not

  • Up to 3% FX outside the US
  • No fixed cashback
  • Limited country list
  • ATM fees and limits not published

Our take on Avalanche Card

The Avalanche Card comes from the Avalanche Foundation and lets you spend AVAX, USDC or USDT from your own wallet. Getting it costs nothing: no card fee, no shipping fee and no monthly fee, and you can have a physical card as well as a virtual one.

Costs show up when you spend in other currencies. Outside the US, FX and cross-border fees can reach 3%, which is high next to cards like Avici or Gnosis Pay. US cardholders get a credit card with a simpler 1% FX fee.

Rewards come as Avax Points that you can use on a travel portal, not as cashback, so it's hard to put a number on their value.

Fine for AVAX holders who mostly spend at home. For travel or rewards, other self-custody cards do better.

How we scored Avalanche Card: 5.2/10

Methodology
Fees 30% 5 Free to get, but up to 3% FX outside the US.
Rewards 20% 3 Points only.
Control 20% 8 Self-custody.
Reach 15% 5 About 31 countries.
Flexibility 15% 5 Four assets, no bank rails.

Avalanche Card FAQ

Is the Avalanche Card free?

There's no card, shipping or monthly fee.

What are the Avalanche Card's FX fees?

Up to 3% outside the US and 1% in the US.

Which crypto does the Avalanche Card support?

AVAX, USDC, USDT and WAVAX.

Does the Avalanche Card give cashback?

No fixed cashback. Spending earns Avax Points that you can redeem through a travel portal.

Sources

  1. Avalanche Support: What is the Avalanche Card?Official overview
  2. DefiLlama card details: Avalanche CardFees, assets, chains, countries, verified Sep 28, 2026

We checked these sources on 15 October 2026. Fees and rewards change often. Spotted something out of date? Report a correction and we'll check it within two working days.

Compare Avalanche Card with

Solid

A self-custody stablecoin Visa paying 3% back in USDC on the free tier, in 105 countries.

3% to 5% in USDC Self-custody Bank transfers Visa
7.9out of 10

Bleap

A free self-custody Mastercard for Europe with category cashback in USDC up to 20%.

1% to 20% in USDC by category Self-custody Mastercard
7.8out of 10

COCA

A self-custody Visa with 0% FX, a 5% yield on USD and up to 8% back for COCA stakers.

1% to 8% in stablecoins Self-custody Bank transfers Visa
7.8out of 10